Management Committee

You are here

The management committee is composed of the following members:

Visit also the web pages of the European Cost action ORIGINS (TD1308).

TD COST Action TD1308Management Committee

MC Chair Dr Muriel GARGAUD (FR)
MC Vice Chair Prof Wolf GEPPERT (SE)

■ Data registration in e-COST pending subject to online registration and nomination acceptance by nominee.


COST Participants

Country MC Member
Austria Prof Manuel GUEDEL
Austria Dr Christine MOISSL-EICHINGER
Belgium Prof Philippe CLAEYS
Belgium Prof Emmanuelle JAVAUX
Croatia Dr Tomislav JURKIC
Czech Republic Dr Jan ZABKA
Czech Republic Prof Svatopluk CIVIS
Denmark Prof Martin BIZZARRO
Denmark Prof Pierre-Alain MONNARD
Estonia Prof Kalle KIRSIMAE
Estonia Dr Riho MOTLEP
Finland Dr Kirsi LEHTO
Finland Dr Jussi MERILUOTO
France Dr Purificacion LOPEZ-GARCIA
France Prof Olivier GRASSET
Germany Dr Lee GRENFELL
Germany Prof Alessandro AIRO
Greece Prof Christos OUZOUNIS
Hungary Dr Akos KERESZTURI
Iceland Dr Viggo Thor MARTEINSSON
Iceland Dr Thorsteinn THORSTEINSSON
Ireland Dr Catherine ROSE
Ireland ■ Prof Tom RAY
Israel Prof Addy PROSS
Israel Prof Gonen ASHKENASY
Italy Dr John Robert BRUCATO
Italy Prof Raffaele SALADINO
Latvia Dr Amara Linna GRAPA
Lithuania Prof Grazina TAUTVAISIENE
Netherlands Prof Alexander TIELENS
Netherlands Dr Inge Loes TEN KATE
Norway Dr Nicola MCLOUGHLIN
Norway ■ Dr Helge HELLEVANG
Poland Prof Ewa SLABY
Portugal Dr Nuno SANTOS
Portugal Dr Jorge GAMEIRO
Romania Prof Ioana GOMOIU
Serbia Dr Branislav VUKOTIC
Serbia Prof Zorica SVIRCEV
Slovakia Dr Zuzana KANUCHOVA
Slovakia ■ Dr Oliver STRBAK
Slovenia Prof Tadej KOTNIK
Slovenia Dr Blaz STRES
Spain Prof Eduardo MARTIN
Sweden Prof Wolf GEPPERT
Sweden Prof David DUNER
Switzerland Prof Corinne CHARBONNEL
Switzerland Prof Yann ALIBERT
United Kingdom Prof Nigel MASON
United Kingdom Prof Didier QUELOZ

Country MC Substitute
Austria ■ Ms Alexandra PERRAS
Belgium Dr Annick WILMOTTE
Belgium Prof Veronique DEHANT
Belgium ■ Mr Dominique LAMBERT
Czech Republic Prof Frantisek KRCMA
Denmark Dr Daniel MERKLE
Finland Dr Matti JALASVUORI
Finland Dr Tomas KOHOUT
Finland Dr Johanna SALMINEN
France Prof Hervé MARTIN
Germany Mr Ernst HAUBER
Germany Mr Christoph HEUBECK
Ireland Dr Matt REDMAN
Israel Dr Ravit HELLED
Italy Dr Barbara CAVALAZZI
Italy Prof Daniela BILLI
Latvia Dr Juris KALVANS
Netherlands ■ Dr Paul MASON
Serbia Ms Tamara DULIC
Serbia Dr Igor BALAZ
Serbia Dr Andjelka KOVACEVIC
Slovenia Prof Damijan MIKLAVCIC
Switzerland Dr Sylvia EKSTROM
Switzerland ■ Dr Antoine POMMEROL
United Kingdom Dr Lewis DARTNELL
United Kingdom Dr Terence KEE


COST Near Neighbour Countries

Institution Name MC Observer
Institute of Geology, Petrozavodsk Prof Alexander Slabunov
Institute of Geology, Petrozavodsk Dr Pavel Medvedev


COST International Partner Countries

Institution Name MC Observer
UQAM ■ Prof Daniele Pinti
UQAM Prof Christophe Malaterre
University of Sydney ■ Dr Maureen O'Malley
University of Johanesburgh ■ Prof Axel Hofmann
University of Hawai ■ Prof Nader Haghighipour
University of Hawai ■ Prof Karen Meech


Specific Organisations

Organisation Name MC Observer
ESA - European Space Agency ■ Dr Jorge Vago
ESA - European Space Agency ■ Dr Dimitri Titov
ESA - European Space Agency ■ Dr Olivier Witasse







CSO Approval date: 14/11/2013
Starting date: 15/05/2014
Ending date: 14/05/2018

Action Chair:
Dr. Muriel GARGAUD (FR)

Vice chair:
Prof. Wolf GEPPERT (SE)

STSM Manager:
Prof. Nigel MASON (UK)

Web Manager:



Grant Holder Financial Representative:

Mrs Annick Caperan

Science Officer:
Dr. Mafalda QUINTAS

Administrative Officer:
Ms Ange Marie Ina Uwase



A Trans-Domain Action supported by COST.

COST is supported by the EU Framework Programme Horizon 2020



Involved countries

View the Interactive Map
of Member Countries

Participating Countries
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

COST International Partner Countries
Canada (UQAM), South Africa (Univ. of Johanesburgh), Russian Federation (Institute of Geology, Petrozavodsk), Australia (University of Sydney), United States of America (University of Hawai)

Specific Organisations
European Space Agency (ESA)

Short Term Scientific Missions (STSMs)

Aiming at fostering collaboration, sharing new techniques, and infrastructure that may not be available in other participants' institutions or laboratories. STSMs are intended especially for young PhD researchers, but they are open to senior researchers as well. View the documents at this link.

 It should be explicitely noted that Master students are not eligible for STSMs which are for PhD students and more experienced researchers.

The life-Origins COST Project

Life-ORIGINS (TD1308) is a Trans Domain European COST Action dedicated to the scientific investigation of the origins and evolution of life on Earth and habitability of other planets.

The Action has specifically excluded the search for intelligent extraterrestrial life in its portfolio. Creationist theorems are also outside the Action’s remit.

Individuals are not allowed to use the name of the Action, its logo or any corporate identity of COST TD1308 in any communication without prior approval of the Management Committee.

All publications referencing the support of the Action should be sent to the appropriate Working Group chair at the time of submission.